Ad Radar

Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws

Learn how much property and bodily liability insurance is required to operate a motorized vehicle in Wisconsin. Discover if you have proper coverage and if not what the penalties and fines are for continuing to drive without the minimum insurance coverage ...     read more

Free Wisconsin Auto Insurance Quote

Quote Bullet Provide basic information on your car.
Quote Bullet We search our extensive network of agents.
Quote Bullet You receive an instant, no-hassle quote!
Quote Bullet It's fast, free & there's absolutely no obligation.
Start by entering the zip code of where you park at night:
Btn Getmyquote2

Department of Insurance Contact Information

Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St.
Madison, WI 53702

Consumer Hotline

1-608-266-3585 or
Toll Free: 1-800-236-8517

State Department Website

http://oci.wi.gov/

File Complaint Website

http://oci.wi.gov/com_form.htm

State Regulation

Wisconsin is unlike many states - auto insurance is not necessarily required. Instead, drivers must be able to prove financial responsibility when they take the road. This means that you have the ability to pay for any damages that may be incurred during an accident if you're at fault.

While this might sound like a great way to get around insurance, think again. Financial responsibility can cost a great deal - and in many ways, insurance is a much more affordable option. An auto insurance policy will cover vehicle damage, injuries and property damage - according to the specifications you set out when shopping for a policy. Through doing this, you're getting coverage that will likely far exceed the state's minimum requirements. This means that you're protected in the event of a catastrophic injury. If you don't have such comprehensive coverage, you could be personally financially liable.

Wisconsin does not require proof of insurance in most instances. You will, however, be required to show you have insurance if you've previously lost driving privileges.

Proof of financial responsibility means that you have to show you have the funds available to cover the damages incurred in an accident. Generally, this can be satisfied by placing a deposit of $60,000 cash with the state department of transportation. This is one of the reasons why most experts strongly recommend getting auto insurance instead of following the proof of financial responsibility route.

Insurance is NOT required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles

Penalties:

Wisconsin does not require proof of insurance in most instances. You will, however, be required to show you have insurance if you've previously lost driving privileges.

Proof of financial responsibility means that you have to show you have the funds available to cover the damages incurred in an accident. Generally, this can be satisfied by placing a deposit of $60,000 cash with the state department of transportation. This is one of the reasons why most experts strongly recommend getting auto insurance instead of following the proof of financial responsibility route.

If you are required to show proof of insurance, you must purchase your policy from an insurance company that is licensed to do business in Wisconsin, and you must have the insurance company provide you with an SR-22 policy, which means that the insurance company will automatically notify the DMV if you should allow your insurance policy to lapse of if you cancel your policy.

When is Proof of Insurance Required? - To reinstate a driver's license if that person's driving privileges or vehicle registration has been revoked. - To reinstate driving privileges after a license suspension, if the suspension was due to a damage judgment or for an infraction of the safety responsibility law. - For drivers under the age of 18 in lieu of having a sponsor.

Requirements Regarding Proof of car insurance: Proof Not Required in Most Cases, But Must be Able to Prove Some Sort of Financial Responsibility

Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: License or registration revocation

Min Coverage:

$50,000 for injury/death to one person

$100,000 for injury to more than one person

$15,000 for damage to property

Blank R