Department of Insurance Contact Information
West Virginia car insurance Commission
1124 Smith Street
Charleston, WV 25301
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Auto owners must have liability insurance: At the time of registration, you'll be asked to sign a statement verifying that you have coverage that meets state requirements.
If you're driving, you must be prepared to prove your vehicle is covered: Whether you're pulled over for a moving violation or you're in an accident, you have the responsibility to prove you have insurance coverage on your vehicle at all times. Always carry an insurance card in your glove box.
Use these minimum requirements as a starting point for your auto insurance policy: Mandatory minimums in West Virginia are at least $10,000 for property damage, $20,000 for injury or death, and $40,000 for injury or death of two or more persons.
Be aware of uninsured motorists: In West Virginia, drivers who are involved in accidents involving uninsured drivers have some recourse. If an uninsured driver is at fault in an accident with you, you can request a civil judgment in your favor through civil court. If you succeed, the uninsured driver's registration can be suspended until you are reimbursed.
Some vehicles may not apply to these state laws: Vehicles such as farm equipment, RVs or antique cars might not need to meet these requirements. Ask the department of motor vehicles if you may be eligible for a seasonal insurance policy.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Vehicle that you only use seasonally, such as a motorcycle, camper, antique car, or a vehicle specifically for hunting, are only required to be insured during the time of year it's used. When it's not being used, you must submit a Seasonal Statement of Insurance, form WV-4B to the DMV.
If you fail to meet state minimum requirements, you could be fined and penalized both in a civil judgment and through fines assessed by the department of motor vehicles. - The fine or penalties for driving without insurance or having no proof of insurance may not be reduced if you obtain car insurance before facing the court but it would be wise to get it even it didn't since it will be required of you to obtain and send proof in immediately anyway.
Civil Court Lose - The DMV will send a suspension notice to the uninsured defendant, and suspension will stay in effect until he or she pays the judgment in full or enters an installment agreement.
West Virginia law has several harsh penalties in place for drivers who fail to present proof of insurance. - Administrative penalties affect your driver's license and vehicle registration and usually include suspension of both and reinstatement fees after the suspension period is over. Criminal penalties are taken care of in magistrate court and can include fines and jail time. Dismissal of the ticket in the WV court system does not release the motorist from their obligation to provide insurance to the WV Division of Motor Vehicles upon request.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $5000, registration revocation, license suspension up to thirty days
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property