Department of Insurance Contact Information
Vermont Div. of Insurance
89 Main St. Drawer 20
Montpelier, VT 5620
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Vermont is not what is called a No Fault auto insurance state and does not require Personal Injury Protection coverage, it does however require that underinsured and uninsured coverage be carried as a part of the insurance policies issued to automobile owners and operators.
If you are in an automobile accident where you are not at fault, your insurance company may assume that the other driver's insurance company will end up paying for your bodily and property damages. However, if the other motorist is not insured, or has too little insurance then they will not be able to pay to cover these damages and your insurance company may have to. Uninsured/Underinsured policies are there to cover this circumstance and offset the cost to insurance companies that have to pay for accidents involving drivers without insurance or with too little insurance.
Bodily injury liability: 25,000 for single individual injury / 50,0000 for additional individual injuries. - Property damage liability: 10,000 to cover property damage - Uninsured/Underinsured bodily damage liability: 50,000 for single underinsured individual injury / 100,000 for additional uninsured bodily injury.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Vermont requires that motorists have automobile insurance to cover any financial liability resulting from accidents, for nearly all drivers this will mean an auto insurance policy. You also have to be able to produce proof of insurance upon request.
Vehicles owned and operated in Vermont, by Vermont residents, must be legally registered with the state. If a vehicle owner does not have proof of auto insurance then their vehicle will not be registered and therefore not legal to operate in the state of Vermont. In addition, a lapse in automobile insurance may result in a vehicles registration being revoked by the state.
Residents of Vermont who do not show proof of insurance may also be looking at a ticket with a fine up to $100.00. Typically, proof of auto insurance comes in the form of a small card or sticker that contains you policy number and information, however, in Vermont additional information may be requested and upon request must be mailed into the state. This may be the full paperwork on your policy, so file this when your insurance company sends it to you.
Requirements Regarding Proof of auto insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $100 plus license suspension
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property