Department of Insurance Contact Information
Utah Dept. of Insurance
3110 State Office Bldg.
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Instructions For Filing An Insurance Complaint With The Utah Department of Insurance: Rules And Laws Regarding Claim Handling Contact The Utah Insurance Department Directly Phone: 801-538-3805 Toll Free: 1-800-439-3805 (In-State) Fax: 1-801-538-3829
In Utah, drivers are required to carry minimum coverage. Most insurance experts would recommend the law be your starting point - it is wise to get coverage that far exceeds state standards. Remember that if you only have $25,000 in coverage for bodily injury, you could be liable for significantly more than that. Be sure to consider your safety and financial security when selecting options for your insurance policy. In Utah, the minimum standards include: - At least $25,000 per person and $65,000 pr accident for bodily injury coverage. - At least $15,000 per accident for property damage coverage.
Utah is a "no fault" state, which means you're required to carry Personal Injury Protection. With this, your insurance carrier will pay medical bills up to your policy's limit for injuries incurred in an accident - no matter who is at fault. In Utah, you must have at least $3,000 in Personal Injury coverage. Again, experts recommend that this amount be significantly higher in your actual policy.
You must carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. The state of Utah maintains a database that monitors registration and insurance coverage. If the database recognizes that a registered vehicle does not have corresponding auto insurance, a letter will be sent to the owner. Penalties for failing to comply with state auto regulations can range from $400 to $1,000 as well as a suspended license.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
In the state of Utah failure to carry auto insurance can result in the suspension of your vehicle's registration and you can be fined starting at $400. Upon conviction,, your driver's license will be suspended.
The state of Utah maintains a database that monitors registration and insurance coverage. If the database recognizes that a registered vehicle does not have corresponding auto insurance, a letter will be sent to the owner.
Penalties for failing to comply with state auto regulations can range from $400 to $1,000 as well as a suspended license.
Not only will offenders be fined at least $400 for the first violation, but failing to insure a vehicle is a Class B misdemeanor that will be prosecuted in the courts, and offenders may lose their driving privileges.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory auto insurance: Fine up to $400
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$65,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property