Department of Insurance Contact Information
South Dakota Div. of Auto Insurance
445 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
At least $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability and $50,000 per accident. This will provide coverage for any claims against you for injuries caused to another person that occurred as a result of your driving. - At least $25,000 per accident for property damage liability. This coverage protects you in the event of claims brought against you for damage to another person's property as a result of your driving. This also can cover damage to a car you rent. - At least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured motorist coverage. This gives you coverage for a bodily injury claim you'd have against another driver who was uninsured. This will not cover damage to your vehicle - it only covers your bodily injury.
Underinsured motorist coverage greater than or equal to your uninsured motorist coverage. This is similar to the uninsured motorist coverage; it protects you in the event that another driver does not have sufficient insurance.
At least $30,000 basic no-fault coverage per person. This give you coverage for expenses such as loss of work or medical costs as a result of an auto accident. This coverage has no regard for fault - it's sometimes referred to as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in other states.
South Dakota takes these laws very seriously. If you drive without liability insurance, you could be found guilty of a class B misdemeanor. You could face a fine of at least $150. If you are involved in an accident you will be assessed 14 points against your driver's license, which will cause an immediate suspension of your license.
South Dakota law can be friendly to those who rent cars: The state's regulations for property damage liability coverage also will cover a vehicle you have rented for less than a month - this means that you don't have to purchase extra insurance from a rental company.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If you drive without liability insurance, you could be found guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
You could face a fine of at least $150. If you are involved in an accident you will be assessed 14 points against your driver's license, which will cause an immediate suspension of your license. - If you don't maintain proof of financial responsibility, your license will be suspended for anywhere from 30 days to one year. You could also face 30 days in jail and/or a $100 fine. Plus, you'll have to show proof of insurance through a SR-22 filing with the state for three years from the date that you were found guilty.
The SR-22 form is proof that you have insurance on all the vehicles you own. Even if you don't own a vehicle, you'll still need to have an operator or non-owner insurance policy. You'll have to inform either your insurance agent or your insurance company that you require an SR-22 form to be filed on your behalf. - The state provides additional information about SR-22 filings.
To get your license back, you'll have to pay a $50 reinstatement fee, plus any application fees. If your license has expired in the meantime, you'll need to pass the required tests again.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: License suspension up to 1 year
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property