Department of Insurance Contact Information
South Carolina Department of Car Insurance
300 Arbor Lake Dr., Suite 1200
Columbia, SC 29223
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
In South Carolina the current minimum level of liability insurance coverage required includes: - Per Person Bodily Injury coverage of at least $25,000. - Per Accident Bodily Injury coverage of at least $50,000. - Property Damage coverage of at least $25,000 per accident.
Proof of insurance is required at all times in South Carolina and if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and you cannot provide proof of insurance you may be fined and imprisoned. If your insurance is ever terminated for any reason, state law requires that the insurance company notify the state through a Cancelation of Policy form. You will receive notice in the mail from the SCDMV and must reply, submitting verification of insurance or risk having your license and/or registration suspended. Having these suspensions reversed will require fees up to $400.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
In the state of South Carolina you will be issued a ticket immediately and possibly arrested if you are caught driving without insurance.
You have a 15 day window from getting a ticket to provide proof of insurance. Failure to do so may result in the suspension of your license.
Failure to maintain proper insurance could lead to the suspension of your vehicle registration. If your liability insurance is cancelled or expires, you must return your vehicle's license plate and registration to DMV or reinstate your coverage. Otherwise, you may be subject to a reinstatement fee of $200 and $5 penalty for each day the vehicle was uninsured or the plate(s) was not turned in. The maximum penalty for the first offense is $400 per vehicle.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $200 plus jail term up to 30 days
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property