Rhode Island Car Insurance Laws

Learn how much property and bodily liability insurance is required to operate a motorized vehicle in Rhode Island. Discover if you have proper coverage and if not what the penalties and fines are for continuing to drive without the minimum insurance coverage ...     read more

Free Rhode Island Auto Insurance Quote

Quote Bullet Provide basic information on your car.
Quote Bullet We search our extensive network of agents.
Quote Bullet You receive an instant, no-hassle quote!
Quote Bullet It's fast, free & there's absolutely no obligation.
Start by entering the zip code of where you park at night:
Btn Getmyquote2

Department of Insurance Contact Information

Rhode Island Dept. of Business Regulation / Div. of Insurance Regulation
233 Richmond St.
Providence, RI 2903

Consumer Hotline

1-401-222-2246

State Department Website

http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/

File Complaint Website

For complaints: Download form, complete and mail to: Consumer Protection Unit, 150 South Main Street, Providence, RI 02903

State Regulation

In order to maintain compliance with state law and avoid penalties and punitive action, the following levels of insurance are the minimal amounts of coverage required before operating a vehicle in Rhode Island: - Single Person Bodily Injury coverage at $25,000 per accident. - Multiple Person Bodily Injury coverage at $50,000 per accident to cover all persons involved. - Property Damage coverage at $25,000 to repair or replace damage done to the property of others in an accident.

Though Rhode Island does not require uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, it is recommended in order to provide extra protection in case you get into an accident with another person that is in violation of the law and driving without adequate insurance coverage. This special type of insurance is generally inexpensive and will give you recourse to cover the cost of injuries and damage if you ever have an accident with a motorist who either has no insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover your costs.

Proof of insurance is required at all times while operating a vehicle in the state of Rhode Island. If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer you will be required to provide proof of proper insurance coverage for your vehicle. Usually this proof takes the form of an insurance card sent by your insurer for you to keep with the vehicle. If you are unable to provide this proof of coverage, you will receive a citation that requires you to provide proof of insurance to the state within 15 days. If you are unable to provide proof of coverage that was active at the time you received the citation, your license will be suspended and your vehicle's registration will be revoked.

If your license is suspended and your registration revoked, you will have to provide proof of coverage to the state in order to get both restored in addition to paying significant penalties and fines to the state which can total more than $500. In addition, you will be required to file an SR-22 notice through your insurance company which serves as a guarantee that you will maintain minimum requirement levels or the insurance company will notify the state any time your coverage is cancelled or not renewed.

Insurance is NOT required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles

Penalties:

If you are unable to provide this proof of coverage, you will receive a citation that requires you to provide proof of insurance to the state within 15 days.

If you are unable to provide proof of coverage that was active at the time you received the citation, your license will be suspended and your vehicle's registration will be revoked.

If your license is suspended and your registration revoked, you will have to provide proof of coverage to the state in order to get both restored in addition to paying significant penalties and fines to the state which can total more than $500. In addition, you will be required to file an SR-22 notice through your insurance company which serves as a guarantee that you will maintain minimum requirement levels or the insurance company will notify the state any time your coverage is cancelled or not renewed.

Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: If Stopped By Authorities When Driving

Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = $500 fine maximum, 3 months suspension of license or registration maximum.

Min Coverage:

$25,000 for injury/death to one person

$50,000 for injury to more than one person

$25,000 for damage to property

Blank R