Department of Insurance Contact Information
Pennsylvania Dept. of Car Insurance / Regional Office - Harrisburg
Room 1321 Strawberry Square - Third & Walnut Streets
Harrisburg, PA 17120
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
In Pennsylvania, you are required to carry liability insurance at the following minimum levels in order to operate a vehicle on state roads and highways: - $15,000 for death or injury to any single person involved in an accident - $30,000 for death or injury to multiple persons involved in any accident - $5,000 for damages caused to the property of the state or another person
These numbers represent minimal coverage levels, not the recommended levels or levels likely to fully protect you if you are involved in an accident. For example: if you are involved in an accident with another driver and their vehicle is a %75,000 Jaguar, you can bet the damage done to the car in anything but the most superficial fender bender is going to exceed $5,000. $5,000, however is all your insurance company is going to pay for and if the owner of the Jaguar feels like it, he can then come after you-in court if necessary-to recover the remaining costs to repair his vehicle out of your pocket.
Likewise the medical insurance payments of $15,000/$30,000 are hardly sufficient to cover the expenses that would likely arise from even a moderate collision with someone else, and that could end up being significantly more expensive than even fully replacing a $75,000 vehicle for the other driver.
Greater levels of insurance coverage is strongly recommended by most legal analysts and (of course) insurance companies. This is especially true if you are a homeowner and can have your home sued out from underneath you if you are found liable in an auto accident.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If you fail to maintain the minimum levels of insurance coverage (or having no coverage) as required by Pennsylvania state law, then when you are caught, you will find yourself faced with the following penalties to deal with. You will be hit with a $300 fine, suspension of your driver's license for three months, and suspension of your vehicle registration for three months.
Getting your driver's license and vehicle registration reinstated will require a $50.00 fee each as well. Of course you will not be allowed to have your driver's license or registration reinstated until after you have paid that $300 fine as well. This brings the total cost of being caught without insurance to $400...quite likely the amount you would have saved by simply having an insurance policy in the first place.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = Fine of $300 Plus Suspension of License and Registration
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property