Department of Insurance Contact Information
Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, Insurance Division
350 Winter St NE Room 440
Salem, OR 97301
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Oregon law not only mandates minimums for liability insurance coverage in case of an accident, but also requires uninsured motorist coverage as well, which is protection from those few who choose not to follow the law and find themselves in an accident and financially unable to take responsibility for their accident. In these cases, rather than waste time in court with a lawsuit, uninsured motorist coverage provides protection up to the limit as allowed on the policy.
The minimum levels of liability insurance coverage in Oregon are: - $25,000 - Per person bodily injury liability - $50,000 - Bodily injury liability per accident - $10,000 - Property damage per accident - $25,000 - Uninsured motorist bodily injury per person - $50,000 - Uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles sends out random requests to ensure compliance whereby you may receive notice in the mail requesting proof of coverage for your automobile. Failure to respond to these requests may result in your driver's license being suspended. In addition to this suspension, the DMV will send a notice to the local district attorney and you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor which can result in fines, and a jail-sentence or possibly both. If you are subsequently convicted of this charge of driving without insurance you will have to spend a minimum of 3 days in jail in addition to paying fees and penalties.
Once you have been found to be without insurance, you will be required to keep proof of insurance on file with the state for a minimum of three years. This is an SR-22 filing that your insurance company will have to maintain with the state (resulting in higher insurance fees for you most likely) that certifies that you are insured. If you allow it to lapse, your driver's license will be suspended again with stiff penalties requiring payment in order to get it restored.
If you are involved in an accident and you don't have the required levels of insurance you will lose the right to drive for at least one year. After this suspension, you will have to maintain an SR-22 filing for three years in order t keep your license from being suspended again for non-compliance which, again, can result in hefty fines and penalties in order to have it restored.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: License suspension or revocation
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property