Department of Insurance Contact Information
Oklahoma Department of Insurance
2401 N.W. 23rd Street, Suite 28
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Auto insurance is mandatory and you may not be able to register a vehicle without it. Motorists in Oklahoma are required to have limited liability auto insurance with the following minimum coverage amounts:$25,000 for injury or death of one person; $50,000 for injury or death of two or more persons; $25,000 for property damage
You must be able to provide proof of your auto insurance policy on demand to police officers or other authorities
If you are involved in an accident you must be provide your insurance information to anyone else involved in the incident and to police
Oklahoma is a comparative negligence state, meaning that insurance companies assess how much of any property or personal damage each party involved in an accident is responsible for
Oklahoma requires that motorists carry at least limited liability auto insurance polices. - Non-owner auto insurance is required for motorists who do not own a motor vehicle but still operate motor vehicles.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Up to a $250.00 dollar fine - Up to 30 days in jail - Suspension of your driver's license and vehicle registration
If your auto insurance policy is canceled, you have thirty days to notify the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety of a new policy, with proof of that policy. If you fail to do this then your vehicle registration will be suspended. You must also notify them if you move, if your address is not current and the Department of Public Safety finds out your registration will be suspended.
For further protection the it is recommended that you get an uninsured and underinsured policy, this is not mandatory in Oklahoma, but in spite of the harsh penalties some people may drive their vehicles without auto insurance and these types of policies can help to protect you if you are ever in an accident with someone who does not have insurance.
Requirements Regarding Proof of car insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Police When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $250, jail term up to 30 days, license and registration suspension
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property