Department of Insurance Contact Information
The Ohio Department of Insurance
2100 Stella Court
Columbus, OH 43215
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All vehicles must maintain proof of Financial Responsibility for as long as it is registered to be driven in the state
Proof of FR can be provided by either: A) motorist liability insurance policy which provides coverage for at least $12,500 for bodily injury or death to 1 person, $25,000 for bodily injury liability or death to 2 people, and $7,500 for damage liability to the property of others in any one accident
or B) A $30,000 bond of insurance on file with the state of Ohio issued by a surety or insurance company
or C) A certificate of bond issued by the BMW in the amount of $30,000 and signed by 2 individuals who have real estate with equity valued at a minimum of $60,000
Proof of this coverage may be required during regular random checks made by the BMW on a yearly basis
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
License plate and vehicle registration suspension - Loss of driving privileges for up to 2 years. You can lose your license for 90 days on the first offense, a year for the second, and two years for any additional times.
Stiff fees and penalties for renewal of license plate and driver's license up to $500 depending on the number of violations - Being required to file an SR-22 with your insurance company (which will substantially increase your rates) and keep that on file with the state for 3 to 5 years.
Vehicle impound and confiscation of license plates for up to 60 days if you violate a suspension. Subsequent offenses could result in your vehicle being taken from you and not being allowed to register another vehicle in the state for up to 5 years.
As you can see, it doesn't pay to drive without minimal liability insurance in the state of Ohio. The penalties can be severe and cost you significant damages that will easily wipe out any savings you may get from not paying for the insurance in the first place.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: First Offense = Suspension of license for ninety days Plus Reinstatement Fee of $75
$12,500 for injury/death to one person
$25,000 for injury to more than one person
$7,500 for damage to property