Department of Insurance Contact Information
North Dakota Dept. of Insurance / State Capitol, 5th Floor
600 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
$30,000 worth of personal injury protection (PIP), or no-fault insurance - $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for uninsured motorist coverage - $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for underinsured motorist coverage - $25,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage for one person per accident - $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death for up to two people per accident - $25,000 for destruction of property of others per accident
When you sign up for insurance with a licensed insurance company in the state of North Dakota, you will be mailed an insurance card, which you must keep in your vehicle at all times to serve as proof of coverage. This proof of coverage must be surrendered any time a police officer or state trooper requests it.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If you're caught without proper insurance, you will be fined up to $150, and have up to 12 points placed on your driving record. Too many points on your driving record will result in its suspension. It will likely also result in higher insurance rates.
For a second or subsequent offense of driving without insurance within an 18 month period, you will be fined up to $300 and have another 6 to 12 points placed on your driving record. In addition, you will be required to file an SR-22 proof of insurance with the state for up to three years and failing to do so will mean an immediate suspension of your license.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory auto insurance: Fine up to $150 plus license suspension and
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property