North Carolina Car Insurance Laws

Learn how much property and bodily liability insurance is required to operate a motorized vehicle in North Carolina. Discover if you have proper coverage and if not what the penalties and fines are for continuing to drive without the minimum insurance ...     read more

Free North Carolina Auto Insurance Quote

Quote Bullet Provide basic information on your car.
Quote Bullet We search our extensive network of agents.
Quote Bullet You receive an instant, no-hassle quote!
Quote Bullet It's fast, free & there's absolutely no obligation.
Start by entering the zip code of where you park at night:
Btn Getmyquote2

Department of Insurance Contact Information

Consumer Services Div. / North Carolina Dept. of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699

Consumer Hotline

1-919-733-2032 or
Toll Free: 1-800-546-5664

State Department Website

N/A

File Complaint Website

http://www.ncdoi.com/Consumer/consumer_complaint_info.asp

State Regulation

All registered vehicles in the state must carry at least the minimum levels of liability insurance.

The Minimum levels of insurance required are: $30,000 for bodily injury for one person and $60,000 for injury to more than one person per accident as well as $25,000 coverage for damage done to property.

The law stipulates that you must carry proof of your insurance coverage in the vehicle at all times.

Your insurance company must notify the state if there is a lapse in your coverage for any reason

Insurance is NOT required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles

Penalties:

Because each auto insurance company is required to inform the DMV of all policy terminations, the DMV will know you no longer carry the required auto insurance and you will be fined to reclaim your license plate.

if your coverage lapses, you'll receive a notice (Form FS 5-7) from DMV and you must respond within 10 days. If your coverage has lapsed, you will have to recertify and pay $50 within 10 days of the date of the notice. If there was no break in coverage, simply enter the correct information on the form and return it to the DMV within 10 days. - If you fail to reply within 10 days, you can lose your license plate for 30 days. When this happens, in order to get your plates back you will have to relicense by paying a penalty fee, a processing fee, and another license plate fee.

In order to re-license after 30 days, you must provide proof of insurance coverage Form FS-1 (which you can obtain from your insurance agent), $50.00 restoration fee, $50.00 service fee (if a plate pick up order is issued) and the appropriate license plate fee.

If you are found driving or in are involved in an accident without insurance the penalties can be harsher, including the suspension of your driver's license and 3 points on your driving record. For more information on the penalties you can read through the NC General Statutes Chapter 20, Article 9A, the Motor Vehicle Safety and Financial Responsibility Act.

Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving

Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: First Offense = Fine of $50 and Driver's License Suspension for Thirty Days

Min Coverage:

$30,000 for injury/death to one person

$60,000 for injury to more than one person

$25,000 for damage to property

Blank R