Department of Insurance Contact Information
New York Dept. of Insurance
25 Beaver St.
New York, NY 10004
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
In New York, auto insurance comes before car registration. Before you even think about purchasing a car and registering it with the state, you must get liability insurance. The state won't issue license plates until you provide proof of insurance.
The coverage required sets a minimum standard. It's strongly recommended that you obtain coverage that exceeds the law. In New York, your minimum liability insurance must cover at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for injury, and $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for death.
Uninsured motorist coverage also is required to meet the same threshold as liability insurance: at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for injury, and $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for death. - You also must have at least $10,000 for property damage liability and $50,000 for basic no-fault insurance.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your car at all times. Your insurance company will issue you an insurance identification card. In addition, the state will monitor your coverage electronically through your insurance company. If your policy lapses, your insurance company is obligated to notify the state. Be sure to keep your coverage current to avoid fees or penalties.
New York's department of motor vehicles could suspend your registration if you fail to obtain insurance or provide proof of insurance. Penalties increase by the number of days you are in violation of the law.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
New York's department of motor vehicles could suspend your registration if you fail to obtain insurance or provide proof of insurance. Penalties increase by the number of days you are in violation of the law. - Driving an uninsured vehicle in the state of New York could result in a ticket, a fine or vehicle impounding. Having a lapse in insurance or even a lack of insurance is another issue all together.
If your auto insurance expires and you do not renew, or if you do not have auto insurance, you are required to surrender your vehicle plates to the DMV. Failure to surrender your plates will lead to suspension of your registration and driver's license.
If the DMV suspends your registration due to lack of insurance for 90 days or fewer, you may be given the option to pay penalties between $8 and $12 for each day the vehicle was uninsured (a civil penalty for 85 days will run you $840).
Your auto insurance provider will keep in contact with the New York DMV concerning your coverage. If you are planning on switching insurance providers, you need to make sure that the new company notifies the DMV as well. If there's a gap of notification concerning this change, you will receive a letter about the issue. If you do receive a request to clear the situation up, do so quickly. Taking too much time to resolve the issue can cost you your vehicle registration and your driver's license.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = Fine of up to $1500 or Jail Term of up to 15 Days
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property