Department of Insurance Contact Information
New Mexico Public Regulation Commission / New Mexico Insurance Div.
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
New Mexico is one of several states that set minimum standards for the amount of coverage you must carry in your auto insurance policy. But most insurance experts strongly recommend obtaining insurance that far exceeds a state's minimum standards to receive the most comprehensive coverage. Remember that if you are at fault in an accident, you will be responsible for expenses such as property damage and medical bills. If your policy doesn't cover the full amount, the rest will come out of your pocket. - Your policy must include liability coverage that covers at least $25,000 per person for injury to one person, $50,000 per accident for injury to more than one person, and $10,000 per accident for property damage.
In New Mexico, drivers have options when it comes to carrying insurance. If you can prove financial responsibility - in this case, $60,000 cash available to cover costs incurred through an accident - you can provide self-coverage rather than using an insurance company. If this is the route you select, you will be responsible for providing proof of financial responsibility to the state. Check with the New Mexico department of motor vehicles for more information on how to obtain a financial responsibility certificate. This can be a risky proposition; remember that you could be responsible for tens of thousands of dollars in expenses and damages if you opt not to purchase auto insurance.
New Mexico has strict rules for those failing to comply with auto insurance laws. Be sure to carry proof of insurance at all times in your vehicle. Violations of the state's regulations could result in a fine and loss of your car's registration.
Your insurer will notify the state in the event you cancel your policy. New Mexico maintains a database with insurance companies, which lists drivers and their insurance policies. If your policy lapses, the law requires that your insurance carrier notify the state. Make sure you pay your premiums on time, and always keep your insurance current.
While many states prescribe specific dollar amounts that a driver must meet, New Jersey does not dictate exact figures for insurance coverage. It's up to individual drivers to make sure they are comfortable with the limits set by their policies. Be sure to consult your insurance company to determine the coverage that will provide both comfort and security on the road.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Violations could result in a fine and suspension of your car's registration if you can't prove financial responsibility
If you actually did not have insurance when you were pulled over, you face more severe consequences. These might include being charged with a misdemeanor, having to pay a fine of up to $300, and losing your vehicle's registration.
Requirements Regarding Proof of auto insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $300, registration suspension
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property