Department of Insurance Contact Information
New Jersey Dept. of Banking and Insurance
PO Box 325
Trenton, NJ 8625
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Drivers have to carry three types of insurance in New Jersey: liability, personal injury and uninsured motorist. You must carry a New Jersey insurance card in your vehicle at all times. This card will be provided by your insurance company, and you could be asked to present it in the case of an accident, a traffic violation or a spot-inspection of your vehicle.
Liability insurance covers the damage caused by your accident, if you're at fault.
Personal injury coverage will pay for your medical expenses - whether you're at fault or not.
Uninsured motorist insurance gives your protection in the event that you're in an accident with someone who doesn't have state-mandated insurance coverage.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If caught in New Jersey without proper car insurance, you could be faced with fines, your license and/or registration could be suspended, or you could spend time in jail. - Under New Jersey law, this is defined as providing false information to an insurance company while making a claim or submitting an insurance application. It can result in: - Incarceration of the individual committing fraud. - Civil fines up to $15,000 for each violation. - Loss of the individual's driver license.
Driving a vehicle with an expired inspection sticker may result in fines of between $100 and $200, and/or imprisonment for up to 30 days. Additionally, MVC may revoke registration privileges.
We believe that the penalties for driving a properly registered and insured vehicle in NJ without the inspection sticker would have penalties such as the ones listed above for driving with an expired inspection sticker since both mean that your car has not been properly inspected in the time frame required by the state.
If you have been ticketed for driving without an inspections sticker in NJ then check with the court listed on your citation to find out what penalties you may be facing. Or you may also choose to contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) directly to see if they can tell you what penalties are associated with this offense
Requirements Regarding Proof of auto insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = Fine of up to $1000, License Suspension of One Year, Community Service
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property