Ad Radar

New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws

Learn how much property and bodily liability insurance is required to operate a motorized vehicle in New Hampshire. Discover if you have proper coverage and if not what the penalties and fines are for continuing to drive without the minimum insurance ...     read more

Free New Hampshire Auto Insurance Quote

Quote Bullet Provide basic information on your car.
Quote Bullet We search our extensive network of agents.
Quote Bullet You receive an instant, no-hassle quote!
Quote Bullet It's fast, free & there's absolutely no obligation.
Start by entering the zip code of where you park at night:
Btn Getmyquote2

Department of Insurance Contact Information

New Hampshire Auto Insurance Dept.
21 South Fruit St., Suite 14
Concord, NH 3301

Consumer Hotline

1-603-271-7973

State Department Website

http://www.nh.gov/insurance/

File Complaint Website

http://doj.nh.gov/consumer/process.html

State Regulation

New Hampshire is a rare case in the United States - drivers are not required to carry automobile insurance.

The state would prefer that drivers carry insurance, however, even though there are now laws on the books. - Some drivers are required to carry liability insurance in New Hampshire: Drivers who have previous convictions such as a DUI or other driving violations can cause the state to require liability coverage. These drivers are notified of the requirement in writing, and their insurance companies notify the state when coverage is obtained.

If you are convicted of drunk driving, you will be required to carry liability insurance for three years. If you are convicted again, the requirement rises to five years.

Of course, most car purchases are funded with auto loans, which require that the owners carry auto insurance. If your car is financed, make sure your insurance meets your lender's requirements.

While the state does not require auto insurance, it is strongly recommended that all drivers get coverage! Remember that if you are liable for expenses incurred in an accident - such as medical bills or property damage expenses - the amount could easily surpass tens of thousands of dollars. Insurance provides both coverage and peace of mind in case of an accident.

Insurance is NOT required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles

Penalties:

In the state of New Hampshire it is not required to carry auto insurance, however, you must be able to prove financial responsibility, or that you have sufficient assets to pay any claims if you cause an accident. If you cannot prove financial responsibility, you will need to purchase auto insurance.

If you are convicted of drunk driving, you will be required to carry liability insurance for three years. If you are convicted again, the requirement rises to five years.

Other Mandatory Insurance: Uninsured Motorist

Min Coverage:

$25,000 per person injured

$50,000 total injuries for persons

$25,000 for property damage

Blank R