Department of Insurance Contact Information
Nevada Dept. of Insurance / Carson City Office
788 Fairview Drive #300
Carson City, NV 89701
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Like many states, Nevada has minimum requirements for liability insurance. Your policy must cover at least $15,000 for injury or death of one person, $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person, and $10,000 for property damage in one accident.
Nevada takes auto insurance very seriously. The state is so conscious of monitoring the status of drivers' insurance policies, that it has a program called IVP (Insurance Verification Program), which joins the state's department of motor vehicles with insurance companies. The program assists the state in receiving fast documentation of new or canceled policies. This means the state will know if you're no longer insured.
The state sets these mandates for liability insurance but does not have requirements for coverage such as comprehensive or collision.
While the state sets its standards, it's critical to remember that these are minimum requirements. Most insurance industry experts strongly recommend getting coverage far in excess of a state's minimum standards. Remember that any damages in excess of your policy's coverage will be your responsibility. Carefully look over your policy to determine whether you need to increase the coverage.
Because of the IVP, it is vital that you keep your insurance current. The state receives status reports on canceled policies, and will be aware if you let your insurance lapse. Failure to comply could result in immediate suspension, fees and penalties.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If caught without such coverage, your registration will be suspended resulting in the removal of your license plates by law enforcement officers.
To reinstate your suspended registration you will pay a fee of up to $250.
If, one who owns a registered vehicle in Nevada uses it or allows others to use it without having an auto insurance policy, is charged a Reinstatement Fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. -If one owns and uses a car without any auto insurance in Nevada and is found guilty by a law enforcement officer, then the penalty is determined by a court of jurisdiction.
If someone drives a car without auto insurance and the car meets an accident, then the registration of the car and the License of the Driver is cancelled according to Nevada Auto Insurance Law. - If someone uses his car for certain period of time without buying auto insurance policy, then he is sure to find difficulty in finding auto insurance companies to insure his car when he decides to buy an auto insurance policy.
Requirements Regarding Proof of car insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $1000
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property