Department of Insurance Contact Information
Nebraska Dept. of Automobile Insurance / Terminal Bldg.
941 "O" Street, Suite 400
Lincoln, NE 68508
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
The requirements for auto insurance in Nebraska are similar to those in other states. Nebraska has mandates for minimum coverage. Drivers must carry at least $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of more than one person, and $25,000 to cover property damage in a single accident.
Although the state sets standards for minimum coverage, most insurance experts agree that drivers need significantly more coverage than the state minimum standards. This is the case throughout the United States. For example, while you must have at least $25,000 in property damage coverage in Nebraska, chances are an accident could result in significantly more damage. Any amount more than $25,000 and you're responsible.
When considering your insurance, find out how much increasing your coverage will cost. Experts argue that $1 million in property damage coverage isn't extravagant. You could be surprised at how affordable the difference is.
You could be asked to provide proof of financial responsibility in the state of Nebraska. Generally, this means providing your insurance card, which will show that you possess at least the state minimum coverage. You will usually be asked to provide this information in the event of an accident, or if an officer pulls you over for unsafe driving practices.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
In Nebraska, you are required to always carry the required minimum amount of auto insurance. You will be asked to provide proof of insurance in the event of a traffic stop or an accident. If you fail to provide such proof upon request, your driver's license is subjected to suspension.
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles uses the phrase "proof of financial responsibility" in several of its forms and documents. This means the state wishes to see documentation proving that you have a valid auto insurance policy that would cover any personal or property damages you might cause in a motor vehicle accident.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500 plus license and registration suspension
$25,000 per person injured
$50,000 total injuries for persons
$25,000 for property damage