Department of Insurance Contact Information
Montana State Auditor's Office
840 Helena Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All motor vehicles except motorcycles must have liability coverage.
The liability coverage requirements are: $25,000 for the injury or death of one person in an accident, $50,000 for the injury or death of two or more people in an accident, and $10,000 for property damage per accident.
You must carry proof of insurance at all times. Whenever you're driving, you need to have your insurance card with you, and you are required by law to present it when asked by any law enforcement officer.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Failing to comply with Montana's mandatory insurance laws will result in steep financial penalties and other consequences. When you drive without proper insurance in Montana, it is considered a misdemeanor offense.
For a first-time offense, you could face fines of $250-$500 or have to spend up to ten days in a county jail. Additionally, you will have five points placed on your driver's license. License revocation occurs once 30 points have accumulated.
For a second offense, you will have to pay a fine of no less than $350 and/or spend up to ten days in jail. You will also have your license suspended for 90 days automatically.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory auto insurance: Fine up to $500 and up to 10 days in jail
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property