Department of Insurance Contact Information
Mississippi Insurance Dept. / 1001 Woolfolk State Office Bldg.
501 North West Street
Jackson, MS 39201
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Contact Consumer Service Div. for concerns: firstname.lastname@example.org or Call Toll Free: 1-800-562-2957; Phone: 1-601-359-2453
Mississippi requires all vehicles to be insured.
You must have proof of financial responsibility with you at all times. If you have a liability policy, you will need your insurance ID card in your vehicle at all times. If you instead proved financial responsibility to the motor vehicles department, you will need to carry the document that they gave you verifying it.
The minimum liability amounts are: $25,000 per person for injuries, $50,000 per accident for injuries, and $25,000 per accident for physical damage to another vehicle or someone else's property.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
The initial penalty for failing to maintain proof of Financial Responsibility may be up to $1000 and include suspension of driving privileges (license and registration) for one (1) year or until the motor vehicle owner shows proof of insurance. If the driver produces proof of Financial Responsibility at the time of the court hearing, the fine may be reduced to $100. To reinstate your license you may be required to file proof of Financial Responsibility with the Department of Public Safety of the State of Mississippi (DPS).
Mississippi law does not allow a police office to pull you over just to verify that you have proof of insurance, but it does permit the officer to ask you for your insurance ID card during stops for other traffic violations. If you cannot provide proof of insurance, you will have to pay a fine of $1,000 for a first offense. Your driving privileges will also be suspended for a year or until you provide proof of insurance.
Penalties will increase with each additional offense of not carrying coverage.
Requirements Regarding Proof of car insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $1000 plus license suspension
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property