Department of Insurance Contact Information
Minnesota Dept. of Commerce
85 - 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Drivers must carry the following amounts of liability coverage: - $30,000 for the injuries of one person - $60,000 for the injuries of two or more persons - $10,000 for property damage
Drivers must carry the following amounts of personal injury protection (PIP), or medical payments coverage: $40,000 per person per accident ($20,000 for medical costs and $20,000 for non-medical costs like lost wages).
Drivers must carry the following amounts of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: - $25,000 for the injuries of one person - $50,000 for the injuries of two or more persons
Drivers must provide proof of insurance upon request. If pulled over by a peace officer, Minnesota drivers must provide proof of auto insurance or they could face a ticket and fines.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Being caught by a police officer driving without insurance is considered misdemeanor crime in MN if it is your first time and a gross misdemeanor for subsequent violations within 10 years.
Some Minnesota jurisdictions allow for a driver to produce proof of insurance before the date and time specified on the citation of their court appearance. Even if proof is given at the time of or before the court date there are fines that can set at between $250 and $1000. Because this is a misdemeanor violation up to 90 days of jail time can also be ordered by the court.
Other penalties listed by Minnesota for driving without insurance can be license suspension or revocation. If you have received a citation for driving without insurance contact the court that is listed on your ticket to find out if your penalties will be lessened if you obtain car insurance before your court date.
Failure to hold current auto insurance in the state of Minnesota will lead you to trouble, especially if it's not your first time getting caught without it. Depending on which jurisdiction you're in, you could be given a fine that could range from $250 to $1,000. Time in prison (up to 90 days) is also possible.
Requirements Regarding Proof of auto insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = Fine of up to $100 or Jail Term of up to Ninety Days
$30,000 for injury/death to one person
$60,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property