Department of Insurance Contact Information
Michigan Department of Auto Insurance
P.O. Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All registered vehicles and their drivers must carry no-fault insurance in order to be in compliance with state laws
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) will cover you if you are driving or riding in a vehicle in any state in the U.S. as well as in Canada. It also covers you if you are a pedestrian in an accident. Unlike other states where there is a set minimum amount of liability insurance that you must cover, this insurance covers all injuries and damages from an accident after your deductible - which you can adjust to control the cost of the insurance. The PIP will pay up to $1,000,000 maximum per accident, excluding vehicles unless they are legally parked.
This insurance is more of an extra, or umbrella policy to provide extra protection in case you are sued in an accident under special circumstances. Minimum coverage amounts for this type of insurance are: - $20,000 per person injured - $40,000 total injuries for persons - $10,000 for property damage
This insurance will protect you if you are held legally liable in an accident that involves the death of another person, or permanent, serious disfigurement or impairment of a bodily function. It will also provide coverage for damages that exceed your PIP coverage and coverage for accidents that happen outside the state of Michigan.
Keep in mind that you must carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times or risk having your license suspended if you are stopped and can not provide proof.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
You must always have proof of insurance with you when you drive your vehicle. If you're stopped and you can't present your certificate to a law enforcement officer, your license could be suspended. Keep proof of insurance in the glove compartment of every car you own.
Driving without auto insurance is cause for penalties of $200 to $500 fees and can include time in prison.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = Fine of up to $500 or Jail Term of up to One Year
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property