Department of Insurance Contact Information
Massachusetts Div. of Insurance
One South Station, 5th Floor
Boston, MA 2110
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All vehicles must be covered: Whether you drive a Limo or a moped, if you are driving on public roads and highways, you must carry the minimum levels of insurance or risk suspension of your vehicle registration and drivers license.
The minimum levels of coverage are: - Personal Injury Protection: Provides coverage for up to $8,000 in work loss and medical expenses no matter who is at fault in an accident. - Property damage coverage: Minimum of $5,000 for damage or destruction to property of others in an accident. - Bodily Injury Coverage: $20,000 minimums per person for anyone accident or $40,000 maximum for persons injured in an accident.
Your license will be suspended: If you are found to be driving without the insurance required by the state. The fees for having your license restored are quite steep and can immediately take away any savings you may have found for driving without insurance or with less than the minimum required.
Keep in mind that these are the minimum levels of insurance required, and they are quite low. If you are in an accident and you do $15,000 worth of damage, totaling someone's vehicle for example, your insurance will handle the first $5,000 and you will be required to pay the other $10,000 out of pocket.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Compulsory motor vehicle liability insurance is discussed in chapter 90: Section 34J of the General Laws of Massachusetts. Here it states that being without insurance on a motor vehicle is punished by a fine not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both the fine and jail time.
The law goes on to say that any person convicted of being uninsured shall be liable for the amount greater of $500 or 1 year's premium for compulsory motor vehicle insurance for the highest rated territory and class or risk in effect at the time of the commission of the offense.
A person cited for driving without insurance may also have their driver's license suspended for 60 days by the Registry of Motor Vehicles and likely their registration and tags to the vehicle suspended as well. The fees for having your license restored are quite steep and can immediately take away any savings you may have found for driving without insurance or with less than the minimum required.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $5000 plus jail term of up to one year
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property