Maryland Car Insurance Laws

Learn how much property and bodily liability insurance is required to operate a motorized vehicle in Maryland. Discover if you have proper coverage and if not what the penalties and fines are for continuing to drive without the minimum insurance coverage ...     read more

Free Maryland Auto Insurance Quote

Quote Bullet Provide basic information on your car.
Quote Bullet We search our extensive network of agents.
Quote Bullet You receive an instant, no-hassle quote!
Quote Bullet It's fast, free & there's absolutely no obligation.
Start by entering the zip code of where you park at night:
Btn Getmyquote2

Department of Insurance Contact Information

Maryland Insurance Admin.
525 Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202

Consumer Hotline

1-410-468-2000 or
Toll Free: 1-800-492-6116

State Department Website

http://www.mdinsurance.state.md.us/sa/jsp/Mia.jsp

File Complaint Website

http://www.mdinsurance.state.md.us/sa/jsp/consumer/FileComplaint.jsp

State Regulation

Liability insurance is only one of three types of insurance coverage you are required to carry while driving in the state. The minimum levels required are: - $20,000 bodily injury per person - $40,000 bodily injury per accident - $15,000 per accident property damage

Uninsured Motorists Coverage is also required and designed to make sure that there are no gaps in coverage in the case of an accident where someone will walk away without the protection or coverage they need. By requiring all drivers to carry this type of insurance, they can rest assured that if they are involved in an accident with a person who is in violation of the law and has no insurance and no assets to sue for, they can still be protected for their injuries and damage. The state law mandates the same minimum levels of coverage for uninsured motorist insurance as they do for liability protection: $20K injury/$40K max injury/$15K property damage.

Personal Injury Protection (also known as PIP) is a popular type of insurance that protects you if you are involved in an accident that leaves you unable to work. The insurance will pay you a certain amount per month up to the maximum amounts if you unable to work for a period of time. The minimum amount of coverage required is $2,500.

Insurance is NOT required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles

Penalties:

Your registration is revoked and you are asked to return the license plates on your vehicle. Not doing so can result in hefty fines and the possibility of some jail time.

If your accidently insurance slips, you need to rectify the matter immediately. If you don't, you will be fined $150 for the first 30 days and then $7 for each day after that. Plus, your registration is gone and there will be a reinstatement fee when you get matters back in order.

Lose of license plates and vehicle registration privileges. - Pay a restoration fee of up to $25 for a vehicle's registration. - Have license plates confiscated by an authorized tag recovery agent, once registration suspension is in effect.

Pay uninsured motorist penalty fees for each lapse of insurance - $150 for the first 30 days, $7 for each date thereafter. - Be prohibited from registering any future vehicles until all insurance violations are cleared. - Pay a fine of up to $1,000 and/or 1 year imprisonment if provided false evidence of insurance.

Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration

Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: Fine up to $1000 and up to one year in jail

Min Coverage:

$20,000 for injury/death to one person

$40,000 for injury to more than one person

$15,000 for damage to property

Blank R