Department of Insurance Contact Information
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation / Maine Bureau of Insurance
No. 34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 4333
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All vehicles must be insured If you plan to drive it on public roads or highways, motorcycle and mopeds included.
You must carry valid proof of insurance Your insurance company will give you an insurance card with your renewal every year. You must carry this renewal card in your vehicle at all times and surrender it to a police officer if they request it (which they will if you are pulled over for any reason).
Penalties for non-compliance can include suspension of your driver's license and vehicle registration which will require hefty payments in fees and fines in order to recover from.
Keep in mind that these coverage levels are the minimum required by the state, and you could easily find yourself liable for more than these amounts if you are involved in anything more than a minor collision with another vehicle. A person's medical payments alone if they break any bones in an accident with you could easily approach or exceed $50,000 if you factor in their transport to a medical facility, medications, specialist doctors and rehabilitation or physical therapy.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Caught driving without proper auto insurance in Maine? You will receive a fine of between $100 and $500, and your license and vehicle registration can also be suspended. To get your driving privileges restored you must provide proof of current auto insurance to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. - (Being found without insurance is a traffic infraction (and also a Class E crime) for which a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $500 may be assessed. Your license and vehicle registration can also be suspended. The suspension will continue until financial responsibility is proven and there are other requirements that might be compulsory. You might then have a restricted license for a period of time as well.)
The penalties for driving without registration, insurance or an inspection sticker in the state of Maine are quite steep. An expired registration will get you a warning and summons. If the car has not been registered at all or within the last 150 days and you are stopped by a law enforcement agent it will be considered a Class E crime. In Maine a Class E crime can allow you to be arrested and go before a district court judge. The maximum term for being found guilty of a Class E offense is 6 months.
Being caught driving without an inspection sticker is a traffic infraction. Unless otherwise specified by the jurisdiction you are in, this again is a Class E crime, which is punishable by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500, license registration suspension up to 30 days
$50,000 for injury/death to one person
$100,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property