Department of Insurance Contact Information
Louisiana Department of Insurance / The Poydras Building
1702 North 3rd St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Unless your car is a municipal vehicle, you will be required to carry liability insurance. Louisiana state law requires that you carry at least $10,000 coverage per person and $20,000 per accident for death or injury, and $10,000 for property damage coverage. - Penalties can be severe in Louisiana if you fail to provide proof of insurance or if you fail to carry the state required insurance. For example, if you cannot provide an insurance card, you could face fines, penalties and suspension of your registration. Generally, you will have a grace period to allow you a chance to comply with the regulations and produce proof of coverage.
Generally, proof of insurance can be satisfied by carrying your insurance card in your car's glove box at all times. Your insurance policy or a letter from your insurance company could also suffice.
At various times, you may be required to show proof of insurance in Louisiana. These occurrences include if you're pulled over by an officer, when you apply for registration, or even possibly when you're renewing a driver's license.
If you cancel your policy, your carrier will notify the state immediately. Once the state knows you no longer have coverage, you will be unable to get a new registration or renew your existing one until you prove you have new coverage. Make sure you pay your premiums on time and renew your policies on time. If you get a new policy with a new insurer, your company will notify the state.
To avoid any confusion, always carry proof of insurance in your vehicle. This will protect you in the rare case of a computer glitch or misplaced file with the state.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Vehicles used primarily for display or parades
Vehicles owned by the U.S. or Louisiana and buses owned by the city.
If you are pulled over by a Louisiana law-enforcement officer and fail to show proof of insurance, you will face immediate impoundment of your vehicle. An alternative outcome is that the officer will remove your tags and attach a yellow sticker to your back windshields that shows other officers you lack proof of insurance. You are then given three days to present proof of insurance to the Office of Motor Vehicles, which will permit you to reclaim your vehicle and tags.
In Louisiana if you fail to provide proof of insurance or if you fail to carry the state required insurance. For example, if you cannot provide an insurance card, you could face fines, penalties and suspension of your registration. Generally, you will have a grace period to allow you a chance to comply with the regulations and produce proof of coverage.
However, if you are again caught without insurance after the three-day limit, you will face another impoundment of your vehicle until you can provide proof of insurance. You will also face reinstatement fees and towing costs.
Furthermore, for each time you are found without insurance, you will face $75-$100 the first time, $100-$250 the second time, and up to $700 each time afterward.
Requirements Regarding Proof of car insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Confiscation of license plate plus reinstatement fee of $50
$10,000 for injury/death to one person
$20,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property