Department of Insurance Contact Information
Kentucky Office of Insurance
215 West Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
In regards to liability insurance, in Kentucky you must carry at least $10,000 for property damage, $25,000 for injury to a single person and $50,000 for injury to more than one person in an accident.
You also must carry no fault personal injury insurance, which must be at least $10,000 of coverage. The "no fault" concept means that your policy will pay up to the amount covered, no matter which driver caused the accident.
Minimum requirements: Chances are, an accident will have at least several thousands of dollars in damage - just imagine what a fender bender might cost. While states have insurance laws, they can only mandate minimums. Most insurance experts recommend getting coverage far beyond a state's minimum standards. For example, it's not uncommon for a policy to include $1 million in coverage for property damage.
Your insurance company will notify the state that you are insured. But it's your responsibility to retain proof of insurance - your insurance card will suffice - in your car at all times.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If you fail to follow Kentucky's state insurance requirements, you will face suspension of your license and vehicle registration if you are stopped by a traffic officer. This officer will also demand a payment from $500-$1000 for driving uninsured, and may sentence you to 90 days of jail.
For enforcing insurance requirements, Kentucky mandates that insurance providers electronically submit their active insurance policies on a monthly basis to a county clerk. If a policy has been cancelled, the state will likely contact the newly uninsured person asking for information on a new policy. If the respondent doesn't obtain new insurance, he will face suspension of his license and lapse fees.
Driving with an expired license comes with a fine and the vehicle can be held on a 24 hour impound. The state of KY lists examples of 24 Hour impounds as: - Expired registration tags over 6 months, - Select parking violations, - Expired drivers license over 30 days, and - Drivers arrested for a criminal offense while in possession of the vehicle.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: Fine up to $1000 plus jail term of up to three months
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property