Department of Insurance Contact Information
Indiana Dept. of car insurance / Consumer Services Division
311 West Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All vehicles must be insured. If the vehicle is required to have a license plate, then it must be insured.
You must show your insurance card to law enforcement officers. Indiana law requires you to present your insurance card to police officers who pull you over for a safety check or traffic violation. If you ever go to court for an accident or traffic ticket, you should also have your insurance card with you.
The mandatory minimum liability coverage amounts are: $25,000 for the injury or death of one person in an accident, $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in an accident, and $10,000 for property damage.
New policies must have uninsured motorist coverage. Indiana's Department of Insurance requires that all new auto insurance policies include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage unless the policyholder expressly rejects the coverage in writing. For uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage, the minimum is $25,000/$50,000. For uninsured motorist property damage coverage, the minimum is $10,000. For underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, the minimum is $50,000.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If you drive a vehicle in Indiana without the proper insurance coverage, you could have your driver's license suspended for 90 days. For drivers with multiple offenses within a three-year period, the driver's license suspension lasts for one year.
To have the license reinstated, the driver must pay a fee of $150 for a first offense, $225 for a second offense, and $300 for subsequent offenses. The driver must also present proof of valid current insurance at the time the license is reinstated.
Also, if you've been convicted of a traffic offense and one of the following applies, you'll also be required to show proof using the same system: - The moving violation is a misdemeanor or felony. - You've had two other moving traffic offenses in the past 12 months for which points were assigned. - You've had your license suspended before for failing to show proof of financial responsibility.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Suspension of license or registration up to one year
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property