Department of Insurance Contact Information
Illinois Div. of Insurance
320 West Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62767
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All vehicles have to be insured. If you want to operate your vehicle legally in the state of Illinois, you must carry the minimum amounts of coverage specified by the law.
The minimum liability coverage amounts are: $20,000 for the injury or death of one person in a collision, $40,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a collision, and $15,000 for property damage.
The minimum liability amounts are: $25,000 per person for injuries, $50,000 per accident for injuries, and $25,000 per accident for physical damage to another vehicle or someone else's property.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If your car is selected by the computer at random, you will be sent a questionnaire that requests the name of your auto insurer and your policy number. The information you provide will be authenticated with the insurer you list. If you don't return the survey or are uninsured, your license plate will get suspended.
You can receive a traffic ticket if you are pulled over or involved in a collision and are found to be uninsured. The consequences will include suspended license plates and a $500 minimum fine for driving without insurance. If you drive your vehicle while the license plates are suspended, you will face a minimum fine of $1,000.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $1000
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property