Department of Insurance Contact Information
Idaho Dept. of Insurance
700 West State St., P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All vehicles must carry liability insurance. All motor vehicles must be insured for the minimum amount required by law.
You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. If you are pulled over, law enforcement officers will ask you for your insurance card. Failure to present your card could result in a traffic ticket.
Drivers must carry a minimum of the following liability limits: $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 per accident in property damage coverage.
Newly issued or renewed car insurance policies must include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
If you get pulled over and do not have valid proof of insurance with you, you could be issued a ticket. This will result in a fine and possibly a negative mark on your driving record. The courts in Idaho may also charge you additional fees for driving without insurance.
If you fail to carry insurance, you will find that the consequences are far more painful than actually obtaining liability insurance in the first place. For starters, the state's no-insurance laws require you to provide proof of financial responsibility for one year if you are a first-time offender.
The second time you violate these laws within a five-year period, the state requires you to provide proof of financial responsibility for three years. For more information regarding matters such as these, contact the Boise office of the Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8736.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $75
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property