Department of Insurance Contact Information
Hawaii Insurance Div. / King Kalakaua Building
335 Merchant Street, Rm. 213
Honolulu, HI 96813
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Hawaii has mandatory coverage requirements: In Hawaii, you must meet minimum standards for personal injury and damage liability. Coverages have to provide at least $10,000 per person for personal injury, $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident bodily injury, and $10,000 per occurrence property damage liability.
Hawaii is a "no-fault" state: This means your auto insurance company will pay for injuries to you and your passengers up to the personal injury coverage outlined in your policy. "No-fault" also means you can't sue or be sued, unless there are serious injuries. Remember that "no-fault" does not apply to vehicles or property. The driver deemed at fault is responsible for paying for damage to vehicles or property; "no-fault" in Hawaii covers bodily injury only.
Ask your insurance coverage about uninsured motorist coverage: You have the right to decline uninsured motorist coverage in writing, or you may purchase a minimum of $20,000 per person uninsured motorist coverage, which will pay for serious injury or death if the at-fault driver doesn't have insurance. Think seriously about declining this coverage; it could be a costly decision.
All Hawaii car owners must have auto insurance: State law in Hawaii mandates that your vehicle have at least minimum coverage. You are required to retain proof of insurance in your car at all times.
There are penalties for failure to get insurance: You could be ticketed or fined if you fail to provide proof of insurance "an insurance card" when requested. If you fail to get coverage for your vehicle, you are required to surrender the car's registration and license plates.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
In Hawaii and Maui counties, if your vehicle is non-operable, you may opt to put it in a state of official storage. This means you won't have to pay its registration renewal fees and taxes.
You may also follow this procedure for vehicles that are operable, but won't be used for a long period of time.
You could be ticketed or fined if you fail to provide proof of insurance "an insurance card " when requested.
If you fail to get coverage for your vehicle, you are required to surrender the car's registration and license plates.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property