Department of Insurance Contact Information
Georgia Dept. of Insurance
2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr., West Tower, Suite 716
Atlanta, GA 30334
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All registered vehicles in the state of Georgia must be insured: Georgia is not unlike most jurisdictions. If you drive a car, you must have it insured.
The state monitors your coverage: Georgia's Department of Revenue requires auto insurance companies to provide your policy information. The state monitors whether your policy is current through a database. You're allowed to visit the Department's database to make sure the information about you on file is accurate.
Get at least minimum liability insurance: In Georgia, minimum liability coverage is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to two or more persons, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. Remember, these are only minimum requirements.
Exemptions are available: Some drivers are eligible for exemptions from insurance coverage requirements or lapse fees. Appropriate situations include if the vehicle was sold, if the lease expired, if the owner moved out of state, if the vehicle was salvaged, or if the vehicle is stored. Members of the military also may be eligible. To find out more, consult the state of Georgia.
While it isn't required, you should carry proof of insurance in your car. If your company does not provide you with a proof of insurance card, ask for one or make a copy of your policy's declarations. The information could prove useful during an accident or a traffic stop - and you may be obligated to carry it if you're driving out of state. - Georgia will penalize you if your coverage lapses: A lapse in Georgia is only 10 days, so be sure to keep your policies current and notify the state if you change insurance carriers. In the case of lapse of coverage, you will be fined $25, plus a $60 reinstatement fee to make your registration valid. If you fail to rectify the situation and you drive with a suspended registration, you're committing a misdemeanor and could face additional fines and impoundment. Second and third offenses face tougher penalties.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Vehicles sold or the ownership transferred; Owner moved to another state or the ownership was transferred out of state; Vehicle lease was terminated
Vehicle was wrecked, salvaged, or junked; Vehicle was repossessed, stolen, or not driven because it was inoperable; Vehicle was stored or used seasonally for agricultural purposes
Those in the military: You are also exempt if deployed and the vehicle is not being driven. You will need to file an affidavit to claim your exemption. You can file this before, during, or after your deployment at your local tag office.
You could suffer stiff penalties and your vehicle registration could be suspended if your insurance policy lapses or is cancelled. The state defines the word "lapse" as 10 or more days without continuous coverage.
If your coverage lapses, you will be fined a $25 lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee before you can renew your license plates. It is a misdemeanor to drive a vehicle with a suspended registration, so you could face additional penalties, fines, or even impoundment if you are stopped by law enforcement without insurance coverage.
For second- and third-time insurance offenders, the penalties and fees increase. By the third offense, you will pay a $25 lapse fee and a $160 reinstatement fee, and your vehicle's registration will be suspended for six months. If you are convicted of driving the car during this time, even harsher penalties will apply.
Georgia will penalize you if your coverage lapses: A lapse in Georgia is only 10 days, so be sure to keep your policies current and notify the state if you change insurance carriers. In the case of lapse of coverage, you will be fined $25, plus a $60 reinstatement fee to make your registration valid. If you fail to rectify the situation and you drive with a suspended registration, you're committing a misdemeanor and could face additional fines and impoundment. Second and third offenses face tougher penalties.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $1000 and jail term up to one year
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property