Department of Insurance Contact Information
Delaware Dept. of Insurance
841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All registered vehicles must be insured: In Delaware, you can't even register your car until you can prove that you have insurance first.
Beware of random checks: Vehicles are randomly checked for insurance coverage in Delaware, and insurance companies are required to notify the state when coverage ends. Not having coverage could result in a fine, loss of registration or loss of driver's license.
Minimum liability insurance is required: For Delaware, the minimums are $15,000 liability for one person injured, $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person, and $10,000 for property damage.
Delaware requires Personal Injury Protection: This coverage applies whether you are liable for the accident or not. Your insurance company will cover costs for medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers, which under law must be at least $15,000 for one person and $30,000 for all people per accident.
Tort add-on state: Delaware follows a Tort system, which means someone is found to be at fault in an accident. That person is responsible for all the damages. Be aware of this as you choose your policy.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
The fine for a first offense can range from $100 to $2000, and up to $3,000 if you get caught a second time without applicable liability insurance.
The DMV can issue you other penalties too, like suspending your license for six months making it hard to get to school or work. Your vehicle registration may be suspended too, meaning your car isn't registered for the road at all whether you or another driver want to use it.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine of up to $2000, suspension up to six months of license
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property