Department of Insurance Contact Information
Connecticut Insurance Department
153 Market Street
Hartford, CT 6142
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All registered vehicles must be insured: If you have a vehicle and that will be operated on a public road, it must be registered and insured.
You must carry proof of insurance at all times in the vehicle: You cannot register your vehicle without proof of insurance, and you must keep that proof in the vehicle. Failing to submit proof of insurance to an officer will result in a citation.
Minimum liability insurance is required: For Connecticut, the minimums are $20,000 for an individual's injuries and $40,000 for injury or death of more than one person; and at least a $10,000 property damage maximum for one accident.
Don't let your policy lapse: The state of Connecticut is notified by insurers every time an insurance policy is canceled. The state will send you an immediate request for proof of insurance; if you do not respond, you could be fined $200 and your vehicle's registration could be suspended. If you fail to pay the fine, the state can revoke your ability to register vehicles in the future. If you plan to not drive your car, you should notify the CT DMV.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Planned nonoperational cars with registration placed on "hold" with the DMV
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: $200 and your vehicle's registration could be suspended.
If you fail to pay the fine and rectify the situation, the state can revoke your ability to register vehicles in the future.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine of up to $200 and registration suspension
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property