Department of Insurance Contact Information
The Colorado Dept. of Insurance
1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
For Concerns Call The Consumer Information Section - Phone : 1-303-894-7490
All registered vehicles must be insured: In Colorado, you can't even register your car until you can prove that you have insurance first.
You must carry proof of insurance at all times in the vehicle: The state of Colorado takes this seriously. If you're pulled over and cannot prove that you have liability insurance, you run the risk of a minimum $500 fine, and four points placed on your motor vehicle record, which will almost certainly cause your premiums to change. But it gets worse if you get caught twice without proof of insurance: a second offense brings with it a minimum $1,000 fine plus a four-month suspension. A third violation also has a $1,000 fine, an eight-month suspension, and likely community service.
Minimum liability insurance is required: For Colorado, the minimums are $25,000 for injury of one person and $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person; and at least $15,000 property damage maximum for one accident.
Exemptions are available: If you are living out of state seasonally or serving in the military, you may be eligible for an exemption to the mandatory motorist insurance law. See the Department of Motor Vehicles for more information.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
In Colorado, the penalty for the first time offenders who fail to produce proof of having proper auto insurance is $500 and an attachment of 4 points to your motor vehicle record, which will raise of your auto insurance premiums.
For a second offense, a fine of at least $1,000 will be imposed along with suspending your driving license for a period of four months. A third violation of law will leave you with a compulsory community service of about 40 hours along with an eight months suspension of your vehicle license and a fine of $1,000.
Significant increase in your auto insurance rates.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property