Department of Insurance Contact Information
Arkansas Insurance Dept. / Consumer Services Division
1200 W. Third St.
Little Rock, AR 72201
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Whether you drive a motorcycle, SUV, truck or van, you must have liability insurance coverage. There are some exemptions for travelers to the state and those who have recently moved to Arkansas.
Insurance coverage must meet certain minimums: In Arkansas, the minimum levels of insurance required are $25,000 bodily liability, $25,000 property and $50,000 total per accident.
Minimum liability insurance is required: If requested by a peace officer, you must surrender proof of insurance for your vehicle or you could suffer penalties. Most officers will ask for proof of insurance when stopping your vehicle for another possible infraction.
Insurance Proof is State-Regulated: Insurance companies report their auto policies to the state with information to match the policy to the vehicle. They also notify the state immediately if there is a lapse or cancellation in the insurance policy. If the state receives notice that your policy is no longer active for any reason, you will receive notification that you must quickly remedy the situation with proof or the vehicle's registration will be suspended. If you are no longer driving the vehicle or no longer own it, you should notify the Office of Motor Vehicles in addition to the policy cancellation that comes in from the insurance company.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Fine of up to $250 for a first offense, and increasing in severity for subsequent offenses potentially up to a fine of $1000 and or 1 year jail time
You risk the suspension of your vehicle registration if you fail to provide proof of your auto insurance policy at the time of an accident or during a traffic stop. You will need to prove you have the required auto insurance coverage for the state of Arkansas before the suspension will be removed.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $250
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property