Department of Insurance Contact Information
Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 North 44th Street, Suite 210
Phoenix, AZ 85018
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All vehicles and vehicle types must be insured: If you intend to drive a vehicle of any kind within the state it must have insurance coverage at the minimum levels required by the state.
Law enforcement officers will ask for proof of insurance: During any traffic stop or accident, DPS officers will ask for proof of insurance. Failure maintain insurance could result in a suspension of your vehicle registration or drivers license or both. The only remedy against these requires fees and an SR22 form filing which must be carried in the vehicle for three years from the date of suspension.
Minimum liability insurance is required:: For Arizona, the minimum levels are $15,000 for bodily injury liability per person and $30,000 for two or more persons involved in an accident as well as $10,000 property damage liability.
Insurance is required immediately: When purchasing or registering a car in the state or Arizona. There is no grace period.
If you will not be driving a vehicle that you have registered, you may have it de-insured by filling out a De-Insured Certificate form which is available online. This way, you can keep the vehicle's registration current while not paying for insurance premiums.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
$500 fine for the first violation and suspension of your driver license, registration and plates for 3 months; - $750 fine for the second violation within 36 months and suspension of your driver license, registration and plates 6 months; or - $1,000 fine for the third violation 36 months and suspension of you driver license, registration and plates for 1 year. - To reinstate these privileges, you may be required to pay fees and submit future proof of Financial Responsibility to the MVD. The future proof requirement is most commonly an SR-22 issued by an insurance company.
The former will also come in the form of registration reinstatement fees, while the latter will probably also involve the costly maintenance of an SR22 form for three years as well.
The mandatory penalty for violation of the implied consent law in Arizona is suspension or revocation of one's driving privilege.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Up to $500 fine plus license suspension
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property