Department of Insurance Contact Information
Alaska Div. of Insurance / Robert B. Atwood Building
550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 1560
Anchorage, AK 99501
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
Insurance coverage must be maintained at all times: The mandatory laws in Alaska require the owner or driver of a vehicle to have liability insurance policy currently active and in place when the vehicle is being operated on a street, highway or public property.
Minimum coverage required: The minimum coverage for liability insurance in Alaska is the highest in the country. They are $50,000 for injury or death to any person, and $100,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident, as well as $25,000 for property damage. The reason behind the high limits is simply to minimize the number of lawsuits that tend to follow accidents in those states where the minimum requirements are not sufficient to cover all of the damage or injury done.
You are required to show proof of insurance: If you are involved in an accident (whether or not you are at fault) you must show proof of insurance that meets the minimum coverage amounts. You may also fill out a Certificate of Insurance form that will be available through the police officers at the accident scene.
If you own a newer car with a loan against it that you are still paying off, you will be required to carry full-coverage insurance on the vehicle. This guarantees the lender that if you are involved in a collision that causes major damage or even a total loss of your vehicle, even if the collision was your fault, the loan company will be paid the balance due on the loan in full.
Insurance is not required in areas where registration is not required. EXCEPTION: A driver that has received a ticket for a violation of 6 points or more within the last 5 years must have liability insurance.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Areas where registration is not required
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
Failure to show proof of insurance: The DMV is required to suspend the license of anyone who does not have proof of liability coverage. The suspension will range from 90 days to as long as 1 year based on prior record or accidents. This suspension will happen even if you were not the one at deemed responsible for the accident.
If you are involved in a collision and you do not have valid insurance, your driver's license will automatically be suspended for a period of 90 days to one year, depending on your driving record.
Beyond the registration suspension, any owner or operator of a vehicle convicted of a MIL violation may be fined up to $500 for the first offense. If convicted a second or subsequent time the fine may be up to $1,000 or a 6 month driver's license suspension or both.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Stopped By Police When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: DMV-Required 90-day License suspension or possible revocation
$50,000 for injury/death to one person
$100,000 for total injuries/deaths per collision
$25,000 for damage to property