Department of Insurance Contact Information
Alabama Dept. of Insurance
201 Monroe St., Suite 1700
Montgomery, AL 36104
State Department Website
File Complaint Website
All registered vehicles of all types must have minimum insurance: No matter what you drive, you are required to maintain a minimum of certain levels of insurance.
You must provide proof of insurance on demand: If you are pulled over by a state or local police officer, you must be able to provide authorized proof of insurance or suffer a fine and, if you can not later show proof in court for the time of the incident, suspension of your license and/or vehicle registration.
Minimum liability insurance is required: For Alabama, the minimum levels are $25,000 per person, $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person and $25,000 property damage maximum for one accident.
If you choose not to carry auto insurance, you must be able to prove that you have either a motor vehicle liability bond or deposit of cash in the amount of $50,000 you are willing to surrender as payment for damages or injuries in an accident for which you may be held liable.
Insurance is NOT required on:
Non-registered nonoperational vehicles
In Alabama, driving without the mandatory liability insurance needed for a vehicle is termed a MLI violation. When you are given a citation in AL for a MLI violation and the conviction is final, the court will notify the department of revenue. This state agency will then suspend your license plate registration.
For a first time license plate registration suspension in Alabama you can immediately get it reinstated if you pay a reinstatement fee of $100 and show current proof of insurance. If it is your second or subsequent time with a registration suspension there will be a 4 month suspension in addition to a $200 reinstatement fee, plus the need for proof of insurance.
Beyond the registration suspension, any owner or operator of a vehicle convicted of a MIL violation may be fined up to $500 for the first offense. If convicted a second or subsequent time the fine may be up to $1,000 or a 6 month driver's license suspension or both.
Requirements Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500, possible license suspension
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property